The Map Habit…Map, Of Course

The Map Habit - Map

The Map Habit - Map

I honestly prefer to work on either paper or a giant whiteboard. For me the ideal office (apart from no office) would be covered with whiteboards with marker and eraser stations posted everywhere. It is so easy to create and subsequently forget things on a computer. Maps are critical, and that’s why I made The Map Habit map in paper. I want to see it and feel it and check off the tasks as they are done and see how I am doing and how close I am getting to my goal (or the treasure). If I had a giant whiteboard at home then this map would be on it.

This map in particular was done in a notepad I bought from Barnes and Noble. It’s a little more expensive but the texture and color of the paper lends itself well to the treasure map theme that I keep gravitating towards. In the end it makes NO DIFFERENCE what you make the map in and I will post more examples of electronic maps, and paper maps and whiteboard maps and you can choose what works best for you in any given situation. Obviously when working with distributed teams you really need to keep it electronic for efficiency but you need to find creaetive ways to keep bringing the map to the forefront so you keep everyone focused.

Published in: on March 5, 2009 at 11:17 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themaphabit.wordpress.com/2009/03/05/the-map-habitmap-of-course/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

